• Anaxagoras
    Trump's presidency is proof that my fellow U.S. American citizens are very stupid. We elected a stupid racist, homophobic, sexist idiot.
  • Anaxagoras

Here is what bothers me. I am a medical professional, and my colleagues are medical professionals. It is amazing that my co-workers can exhibit the type of logic necessary to save and/or maintain the safety of human life, yet value the ideas of Trump daily. It's almost like when discussing politics they warp in time and lose all sense of reality.
  • Rank Amateur
    completely agree, I get narcissistic, egomaniacs exist, the fact that otherwise normal people voted and after all this, continue to support one for POTUS amazes me.
  • Arkady
    The majority of voters didn't vote for him, though. The mechanics of the electoral college allow for the minority to impose their electoral will on the majority under certain circumstances. Democratic strongholds tend to be clustered in cities (low area/high population), whereas Republican strongholds tend to be more diffuse and rural (large area/low population).

If you look at a color-coded electoral map of the U.S., it is a sea of red with a few small blue islands sprinkled in. This phenomenon, inter alia, allows Republican candidates to prevail in some national elections, even when they lose the popular vote.
  • unenlightened
    But it's marginal isn't it? So slightly less than half of US voters supported a complete tosspot. Hurrah for the good sense of US voters? I'd really like if complete tosspots lost by a country mile.
  • Arkady
    We needn't postulate a false dilemma between "US voters are smart" and "US voters are stupid." I'd also like it if tosspots (assuming that's something bad - I don't speak UK) lost by a country mile, but it's also important to keep in mind how the electoral college system works, and how the person elected to POTUS doesn't always reflect the will of (most of) the people.
  • tim wood