• jambaugh
    In the thread What the study of Quantum Theory has taught me about Reality

I asserted that "Love is a moral judgement" which drew some responses. Let's hear some agreement/disagreement and alternative definitions if you would.
  • Pfhorrest
    I think there's some element of truth to that assertion, inasmuch as love is for things we find good in some way. I'd argue that all kinds of good ultimately boil down to moral goods. But the "judgement" part is maybe problematic, as that perhaps implies a level of cognition that might not be present. Certainly to love something is to feel like it's good, but are all feelings judgements?

Something I've long found interesting to contemplate and never come to an adequate resolution on is the relationship of love to fear and hate. I traditionally thought of hate as the opposite of love, such that when I first heard fear juxtaposed as its opposite, back before I studied any philosophy, I thought that sounded really weird. But after studying some philosophy and learning the Greek roots "phobia" and "philia", fear seemed like a natural opposite to love; but so did hate, still. I wondered, does that make hate a kind of fear, or vice versa? Are they maybe opposite love on orthogonal axes?

The conclusion I came to is that fear is a repulsive feeling (pushing away from something that seems bad) in relation to an object that is more powerful than yourself (so repelling it moves you away from it), while hate is the same kind of thing but in relation to an object that is less powerful than yourself (so repelling it moves it away from you).