• leo
    Something I've long found interesting to contemplate and never come to an adequate resolution on is the relationship of love to fear and hate. I traditionally thought of hate as the opposite of love, such that when I first heard fear juxtaposed as its opposite, back before I studied any philosophy, I thought that sounded really weird. But after studying some philosophy and learning the Greek roots "phobia" and "philia", fear seemed like a natural opposite to love; but so did hate, still. I wondered, does that make hate a kind of fear, or vice versa? Are they maybe opposite love on orthogonal axes?

The conclusion I came to is that fear is a repulsive feeling (pushing away from something that seems bad) in relation to an object that is more powerful than yourself (so repelling it moves you away from it), while hate is the same kind of thing but in relation to an object that is less powerful than yourself (so repelling it moves it away from you).
    Pfhorrest

I really like this and I feel you’re onto something, I too for a long time wondered whether the opposite of love was fear or hate. Love attracts while fear and hate repel. But then fear and hate can be seen as two sides of the same coin. The two can be mixed, it’s possible to both hate someone and fear what they may do to you. Hate is directed outwards (you want to push something away from you) while fear is directed inwards (you want to avoid what you fear).

I would say that’s the fundamental difference rather than a distinction between more powerful and less powerful. You may fear someone who is less powerful, for instance if you know they will hurt you not because they are more powerful than you, but because you don’t want to hurt them. Fear moves yourself away from others while hate pushes others away from you. Both move towards separation.