• DS1517
    I've read some of Aristotle but I'm no expert. I am wondering what an Aristotelian response might be to abstract objects such as the principles and axioms of mathematics? Are those pure abstractions to an Aristotelian?
  • Outlander
    "The whole is more than the sum of its parts"
  • Gregory
    Aristotle thought empty vacuous matter united with natures, combining to be objects in the world. So things are part material part spiritual. But the spiritual natures were tailored made for matter, to be instantiated. Thus there is the finite world. Then there is his Prime Mover(s). Besides the finite world and the divine, Aristotle thought nothing existed. So maybe math for him was true only in our minds. Unless he would say the Prime Mover(s) guaranteed the truth of them
  • Gregory
    Also important is that Aristotle thought God or Gods were ahead of instead of behind Aristotle's eternal universe. His God acted as a final cause instead of an efficient cause. This may have some relation to the distinction between this Greek philosophy and Christianity, and to Truth as seen by Aristotle
  • Andrew M
    I've read some of Aristotle but I'm no expert. I am wondering what an Aristotelian response might be to abstract objects such as the principles and axioms of mathematics? Are those pure abstractions to an Aristotelian?DS1517

As you may know, Aristotle was an immanent realist, not a Platonic realist. He regarded mathematical objects as an aspect of the world that could be investigated (albeit in a more abstract sense), not as existing apart from it (in the sense of Plato's Forms which he rejected).

The best way to conduct an investigation in every case is to take that which does not exist in separation and consider it separately; which is just what the arithmetician or the geometrician does. — Aristot. Met. 13.1078a
  • Gregory