• Eugen
    Please start from the premise that I am simply curious to find out an answer, and if I already have certain opinions, they can change.

Regarding Zizek - I am by no means an expert, but it seems to me that he always has different opinions than the rest of the world, and it seems to me that he does the same thing when it comes to consciousness. On the other hand, I admit that I understand little or nothing about his vision of consciousness, so I'm asking for your help.

1. Does Zizek have a complete and coherent theory about consciousness? (in the sense of qualia, not self-awareness)

2. Is consciousness fundamental for Zizek? (I guess not)

3. If it is not fundamental, can it be 100% reduced to the most fundamental properties of reality or does it have properties irreducible to its constituents?

4. Does Zizek really have another successful alternative to the classic fundamental vs weak/strong emergence model?

Thank you!
  • Mikie
    Regarding Zizek - I am by no means an expert, but it seems to me that he always has different opinions than the rest of the world,Eugen

I have yet to hear one interesting thing this man has said or done, what work he’s done on anything, and why anyone should care about his thoughts on anything.

Like Paris Hilton, he’s famous for being famous. Has an accent and makes jokes that adolescent boys can understand — fits the image of a hip “philosopher,” so very cool and edgy.

So I guess what I’m saying is: what exactly is his view on consciousness? And why should we care?
  • bert1
    @Eugen, you might get more responses if your post was more than "Go and research Zizek for me so I don't have to."
  • Baden

:up:

if I already have certain opinionsEugen

Do you? If so, what are they? If you don't, please simply consult a search engine or chat GPT for this type of thing. We expect those who start an OP to have a grasp of the subject.