• musicpianoaccordion
    Hi! I am studying logic.
    People tell me that since I am good at the game Four in a row I am very good at logical think.
    Is this really logic at all? If it is, then what kind of logic is used when playing that game?
  • Cuthbert
    You might use a kind of decision tree to work out a strategy. If I play A, his next best moves are B or C. If he plays B I could play D or E. If he plays C I could play F or G. Etc. That is an application of logic. On the other hand, you might be like one kind of chess player, looking at the board and instinctively sensing opportunities and weaknesses, without explicitly thinking about sequences of moves. So you might be great at four in a row and use very little explicit or conscious logic at all.
  • Agent Smith
    Any studies to back up the claim that being good at Connect 4 implies proficiency in logic?

Speaking for myself, there's more to logic/rationality than just being able to think in step-wise fashion from one point to another.

Nevertheless, someone who's a logician will perform consistently better (in games like Connect 4) than someone who's never studied logic in their life. The converse may not be true. Nowadays, computers can beat human champions in games like these using one of the most primitive of problem solvimg techniques viz. brute force/search.

The long and short of it, there's either no or only a weak correlation betwixt proficiency in the game Connect 4 and logical prowess. :snicker:
  • god must be atheist
    People tell me that since I am good at the game Four in a row I am very good at logical think.
    Is this really logic at all?
    musicpianoaccordion

Nonsensical sentences are never logical. Logic uses language and if language is used inappropriately, then logic is not present.

1. No punctuation.
    2. Four what in a row?