• Manuel

You're a mathematician? I'm envious.

I know that Weinstein thinks highly of Anthony Garrett Lissi, calls him his "rival". Apparently Lissi takes Weinstein seriously, though they disagree on fundamental issues in physics.

I know nothing of math, so I cannot judge any of this.
  • fishfry
    You're a mathematician?Manuel

No, I'm a failed math grad student. @jgill is a mathematician.

I'm envious.Manuel

Me too, of the people who worked harder and had better study habits than I did. My zeal for math is that of the fallen priest for God. Thinking of Richard Burton in a couple of 60's flicks.
  • Manuel

Oh well. I suppose there's much left to study that's not math. ;)

I'll have to talk to @jgill sometime.
  • jgill
    I'll have to talk to jgill sometime.Manuel

Don't expect much. :smile:

I retired over twenty years ago, but I still explore very limited and somewhat elementary areas of math and write notes as a hobby. fishfry and fdrake are modest, but they know a lot more about modern math than me, and express themselves well. As for Geometric Unity, I'm clueless.

Incidentally, you might think peer review certifies results that are published, but in math at least if what's being published is not of popular interest in mathematical circles you really can't be sure of complete accuracy. The other side of that coin is when a respected practitioner submits a paper, their colleagues who referee it might not look closely at every detail, assuming the author is quite competent.

A fellow mathematician from St Andrews U in Scotland and I created a minor journal thirty years ago for the purpose of quickly getting results to a limited community out - a little like arXiv.org now - calling it Communications . . .. We lightly refereed submissions. I'm sure some mistakes slipped by us, but we assumed legitimate journals would catch them when submitted. But even there you can't be certain.
  • j0e