• jgill
    I hardly understand anything in this thread, as my knowledge of mathematics is rudimentary.Wayfarer

I'm with you. And I was a professor of mathematics. I am still puzzled over what precisely "true" means beyond verification by formal proof.

If you point to a number, '7', what you're indicating is a symbol, whereas the number itself is an intellectual act. And furthermore, it is an intellectual act which is the same for all who can count. It's a very simple point, but I think it has profound implicationsWayfarer

I like your clarity.
  • Wayfarer
    Thanks! Coming from you, that is high praise.
  • Lionino
    My view is that numbers are real, but not physically existent.Wayfarer

By itself, this could be framed within a conceptualist framework, where mathematics is reduced to psychology — not just platonism.

If you point to a number, '7', what you're indicating is a symbol, whereas the number itself is an intellectual act.Wayfarer

The distinction between type and token.

And furthermore, it is an intellectual act which is the same for all who can count.Wayfarer

Is it though? You may say this because you are a platonist, so you believe there is some unambiguous universal accessible to all.
  • Wayfarer
    So you don't accept that 7=7?

apropos of this general discussion, I've just downloaded a rather interesting textbook, What is Mathematics, Really? Reuben Hersh, 1999. Quite approachable.
  • Lionino
    So you don't accept that 7=7?Wayfarer

Outstanding.
  • Wayfarer
    Hersh asks right upfront: 'in what sense do mathematical objects exist?' That was the question that hooked me on the subject, and I see it as a philosophical, not mathematical question.
  • TonesInDeepFreeze
    It is (ZF\I)+~I that is bi-interpretable with PA.TonesInDeepFreeze

And actually we don't need the 'F'.

(Z\I)+~I is bi-interpretable with PA.