• Banno
    Interesting.

But I have to go fix a chook shed that is falling apart ofter recent rain, and already have a pretty full reading list.

Would you care to outline their argument?
  • Sam26
    Hell, some of Wittgenstein's comments confuse the hell out of me. They almost seem to break down at a certain point. I'm still learning Banno, maybe if I live another 71 years I might grasp some of his thinking.
  • Janus
    I plan to go and do some house painting and other work on the farm right now,, but I may be able to come back with something. As you know it is not easy to summarize the overall systematic arguments of complex thinkers, but I may be able to focus on some points that can be explained without too much difficulty. I don't want to have to write a paper on it.

At the moment suffice it to say that I think McDowell does a reasonable job of not falling into either naive realism or anti-realism. I'll leave Brandom out of it as I'm not quite as familiar with his ideas.
  • Srap Tasmaner
    Which is the main point I'm making on this thread: that realism vs anti-realism is the same issue as direction of fit; and that consequently it's a question of monitoring direction of fit rather than ontology.Banno

I actually stumbled into the same thing here:

Even in ancient Athens, we might abstract over temples, markets, homes, and so on, to come up with something we call a "building". For all I know, there's a dialogue where Socrates does exactly this (right before showing that every proposed definition of "building" fails).

The world we live in now has buildings because we have made it so: we now deliberately make buildings suitable for a variety of purposes.

We could look at ancient Athens, employ our abstraction, and say that there are buildings there; but those are not buildings in the same way that our buildings are buildings, are they?
    Srap Tasmaner