• simeonz
    First a disclosure. I am not a professional philosopher, but a layperson looking for an answer. But that should not stop a more qualified respondent to take the discussion to an academic level. If they so chose, they had a reason.

To my understanding, there are three major positions regarding the nature of the mind. The first is spiritualism, which asserts that the mental states cannot be completely explained physically. Another one is reductive materialism, which asserts that both the environmental and emotional sense experience can be explained by an entirely physical, logically consistent, maximally accurate predictive and regressive model. However it does allow that there might be qualities of being human that it does not encompass. What I would venture to call, existential incompleteness. Eliminative materialism does away with that last addendum.

I assume however, that even eliminative materialism recognizes consciousness as a concept, referring to our awareness. So, my question is - to what does eliminative materialism ascribe awareness, in what amount, and what physical criteria are involved?