• Theologian
    Incidentally, this is completely trivial and by the way. But I notice you say that:

The foundations of mathematics are examined in metamathematics and the foundations of physics by metaphysics.Dfpolis

I'm not sure how much formal philosophical education you've had (I'm just a beginner myself), but the term "metaphysics" is just a historical accident. It is not "meta" in the way that modern academics generally use the term. I'm not sure if you're aware of that or not. Forgive me if I'm just belaboring the obvious.

I think I should log off for a bit. Otherwise I'm going to spend the entire day on this forum, and I do actually have other things I should be doing! :razz:

Not to worry: I will be back. And probably sooner than I should! :wink:
  • god must be atheist
    Premise 6: A finite being cannot explain its own existence.
    — Dfpolis

This is where you should have started and ended. Positing an unexplained God as an explanation of what cannot be explained is conjuring.
    Fooloso4

...what cannot be explained by itself. It can be explained, by another... be it another finite being or be it an infinite being. But either way, the assumption that something necessarily can explain a finite being IS, like you said, not a necessary consequence. And the existence of that something is the second assumption that is wrong, as you say conjuring, because its existence is not necessary, either.

So Dfpolis piled one not necessarily following consequence on top of another not necessary consequence, and insisted that they are both necessary.
  • Dfpolis
    First, "not being able to do things that are logically impossible" would be a limitation. So if a god can't do things that are logically impossible, then the god isn't infinite, either.Terrapin Station

I defined "infinite being" as being able to do any possible acts. If you want to see being unable to instantiate contradictions, be my guest. Such labels do not change the content.