• i aM

How does MWI handle probabilities in its branching of worlds? For instance if there are two possibilities (+ or -) and each has a probability of 50%, it makes sense to say that two separate branches result.

But what if the probability of + is 51% and the probability of - is 49%? In order to preserve probabilities we would need 100 worlds! (51 +, and 49 -).

It seems rather contrived to me that the number of branches would depend on probabilities like that. Or are some worlds considered to be more "probable" than others? (Which I understand to be a question that might not make sense, because all worlds are considered to be equally "real")
  • i aM
    So, if the universal wave function is real, and continues evolving unitarily, probabilities would need to be somehow preserved. They would be reflected in the wave function itself. At least that's how I understand it.
  • i aM

I meant to tag you too in my question but couldn't find a way to do it. I'm still learning the idiosyncrasies of the site.
  • i aM

I meant boundless.
  • noAxioms
    How does MWI handle probabilities in its branching of worlds? For instance
    what if the probability of + is 51% and the probability of - is 49%? In order to preserve probabilities we would need 100 worlds! (51 +, and 49 -).
    i aM
    The worlds are not really separate under MWI. There is but the one wave function and the various solutions to the wave function. Excerpts from https://arxiv.org/pdf/quant-ph/9709032.pdf:
    Everett does not postulate that at certain magic instances, the the world undergoes
    some sort of metaphysical “split” into two branches that subsequently never interact.
    According to the MWI, there is, was and always will be only one wavefunction, and only decoherence calculations, not postulates, can tell us when it is a good approximation to treat two terms as non-interacting.
    — Tegmark