• Ole Marius Nesset
    Hello, everyone.

I've recently started on my bachelor's degree in philosophy, and this is my first year at a university. Academia is therefore new to me, and I am trying to wrap my head around an article on how emotions are arguable in argumentation theory. We will be writing an analysis of this article, and it will be submitted part by part throughout the semester, and we will be starting with a summary.
    Now, whether or not you agree with the author, I would love to hear your inputs on how his arguments may / may not be fallacious, true or incorrect, because as this is an analysis, I am to point out the structure of arguments, and how / if they are relevant, but if you could, let your arguments / counterarguments be in their own paragraph and just try to highlight what the author is trying to articulate.

Because firstly I am going to write a summary of the whole thing, before diving into the analysis of the author's arguments. This comes later, because I need to understand if I have myself grasped the author's thesis in the first place; being a beginner at this actually have troubles understanding what he is saying. And quite honestly, I think the same can be said for my lecturer, as when I asked him he really didn't address my question, (he is an older man and our native language isn't English, yet I do not at all doubt his competence as he is a good lecturer) he was pointing out the structure of my text, which I appreciate, but I will fix that later - first I need to understand if what I am writing is even true or not. My whole class is having a hard time with this one, and there seems to be many interpretations.