• Vipin
    I am new to philosophy. I find it interesting to read on philosophy.
    Nominalism theories deny universals and they say particulars can have predicates or group under some category. This is tough for me to understand.

Alfred and Tom have strong arms. Having strong arms is universals, why they deny its existence.
    Why do they say it is just named?
    some help appreciated.
    Thanks

• Streetlight
    Perhaps a less confusing way to put it is that nominalism doesn't necessarily have to be committed to the denial of universals as such. What it denies is rather the 'reality' of universals; it says that that universals only exist, insofar as they do exist, as names, as nominata, and not as something substantial - as if another entity, another ens - apart from particular instances of 'strong arms'. Not 'whether' universals exist but 'how' they exist (as names, as things): this is perhaps a more tractable approach to nominalism.
  • Vipin

Thanks for the reply.
    Your reply helps but one more doubt.
    What does it mean to say they exist as names alone? They don't consider universals as reality as Plato argues. I understood that much.
  • Streetlight
    What does it mean to say they exist as names alone?Vipin

In a way this is the question that defines the terrain of nominalism: to answer this is to have a theory of nominalism, and there are quite a few of those. You're right that nominalism is generally anti-Platonic (insofar as Plato is said to be a realist, and not a nominalist, about universals). So to get your conceptual bearings, the opposite of 'nomialism' is usually said to be 'realism'. The SEP is, as always a good but detailed introduction to the topic:

https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/nominalism-metaphysics/#NomAboUni
  • DfpolisAccepted Answer
    Nominalism theories deny universals and they say particulars can have predicates or group under some category. This is tough for me to understand.Vipin