• Deletedmemberzc
    three different kinds of belief noted abovecreativesoul

Hi. Looking at your first post in the formal debate. Here's what I see. I'm no expert.

I'm having trouble ferreting out the three kinds of belief. A numbered list would be clearer.

Is it:

1)statements of belief about events
    2)statements of belief about descriptions thereof
    3)language less belief about events

?

I'm just not sure. So a numbered list would clear that up.

Banno's conflation of key terms could possibly be fleshed out a little better since it's such an important point: possibly with a list of terms and a description of each conflation.

Other than that, the presentation looks good. (Of course, writing of any kind can always get clearer and more to the point, but that's more of a long-term project (for all of us.))

This:
    It paves the way for anthropomorphism by virtue of claiming that language less creatures are capable of holding something to be true. They are not.creativesoul

--is a difficult position for me to accept since it appears to me that animals are capable of holding this and that to be true. But that's my taking issue with your position and not with your presentation.
  • Deletedmemberzc
    If I do have an agenda, here it isjavra

In the formal debate, creative says Banno said this:

"A state of affairs is equivalent to a true proposition."

When I mentioned an agenda, I was thinking of Banno. Something like a deep-seated desire to look at everything in the universe through the lens of language.

I don't feel like you have an agenda here.
  • Deletedmemberzc
    I uphold an evolutionary cline in the abilities of life.javra

That's a healthy agenda to my view. :)

"Cline" is a nice word.
  • Deletedmemberzc
    At the end of the day, though, I agree. And it's not high up on my list of priorities regarding beliefs/opinions that need to be maintained and justified. So it's known.javra