• Ed Davis
    I am a scientist.

Some time ago I was talking to a colleague about whether or not to accept a research paper for publication.

It had methodological weaknesses but he said he could accept these because the study findings were “right” – i.e. he agreed with the results even though the methods used were vulnerable to bias.

I said we shouldn’t lower the bar just because the results fit with our preconceived notion of what is “true”. He replied:

“If someone tells me there is a horse in the field behind their house, I won’t need any more evidence to believe them than their word… but, if they tell me there is a unicorn, I wouldn’t believe it even if they showed me photographs”.

This has troubled me ever since as it is not a question that I have been able to resolve.

Should we accept less evidence (e.g. weaker research studies) if they support what we already believe? Or is this just giving in to confirmation bias?

Can philosophy help?
  • Ed Davis
    I have just spotted the Philosophy of Science forum so, if a passing moderator wants to move this post there, then please go ahead.
  • tim wood
    Can philosophy help?Ed Davis
    No. It seems there are a few issues. 1) You know the differences between a horse and a unicorn. Apparently you're not so clear on the significance or importance of those differences. 2) What exactly are the research studies about? What is their purpose? A conclusion that is likely true and likely to be accepted as true can be reported with appropriate caveats. In even the best research studies are there not many, many aspects not proved but instead accepted as given? 3) What are the exact requirements for publishing? If rigor and exactitude are required, then maybe even a picture of the horse might not suffice.

It appears there's no one-size-fits-all answer. Probably that's why there are editorial review boards, and whatever other kinds of review technical journals have.
  • A Seagull