• Marylil
    "The right answer is not always the solution"
    I love this quote from a proper Devon farmer and genuine lovely man.
    Up for discussion as it really made my think and would welcome your thoughts.
  • Monitor
    We would have to have a definition of both terms, which might be a lot of hair splitting
  • Marylil
    Why do you need definition? That's the whole point!
  • Monitor
    Alright, do you have an example or context to what this lovely man was talking about? Math? personal struggles? golf swing?
  • Marylil
    Crikey Monitor - maybe tomorrow I will pop round (within 2 m) and ask this 70+ farmer what he actually meant? I can guarantee you it was not about any golf swing. I guess being a farmer in Devon England (you are so American!) it may have been past personal struggles that he was referring to. I work in the agricultural industry and I find that very often farmers have wonderful wisdom. I put this down to the solitary nature of their job plus their continued solidarity with nature, weather and immediate environment. I welcome your thoughts.
  • Marylil
    BTW - why (and I quote) "We would have to have a definition of both terms....."
    Why are you a "WE"
  • Monitor

Well my thoughts don't feel very welcome at the moment.

1. I said "We" because I presume there will be more joining this discussion than the two of us.
    2. In the five years I have been on this forum questions like yours are always greeted by asking the
    poster to define his terms. It's fundamental. It keeps people from straw-manning each other.
    3. No I don't expect him to tell us what he meant, I expect you to at least tell us what it meant to you and
    your thoughts on answers vs. solutions to give it a little shape in the beginning.
    4. I'm so American? Perhaps I'm wasting your time.
  • jgill
    "The right answer is not always the solution"Marylil