• Bartricks
    I am not being idiosyncratic. You are confident that I am. But to be that confident about the matter I'd assume you knew a lot about the problem - more than me, for instance (and I'm no expert). Hence my questions. But it seems you don't. So you've decided that I am idiosyncratic in my use of the term 'problem of evil' despite knowing less about it than I do.

The two versions that are traditionally distinguished are the 'logical' and 'evidential' FYI.
  • 180 Proof
    @Bartricks -

So "the problem" is (dis)solved either (1) by 'not believing one & the world were created' (or 'believing that one & the world were not created') or (2) by not procreating? (The dispositions of so-called 'Creator' or 'procreated offspring' are then only relevant for creationists & natalists?) Therefore, you agree it's not a problem for everyone, or 'fundamental problem' of existence per se?
  • Bartricks
    I am using the problem of evil to try and show the apparent incompatibility of human procreation and moral goodness. The problem of evil implies God does not exist. It also implies, I am arguing, that those humans who procreate are, other things being equal, not good people.

A morally good, omnipotent, omniscient being might create a universe like this one but devoid of all innocent sentient life. For perhaps they just like seeing volcanoes erupt, like having beautiful viruses around, like earthquakes and so on. So, just creating a world like ours does not, in and of itself, seem like an act that is incompatible with being omnipotent, omniscient, and morally good.