• TheMadFool
    As a young student I greatly admired Albert Einstein. I even had a favorite T-shirt with the famous equation E = mc^2. Of course I didn't understand the theory of relativity or any other highfalutin science stuff but the admiration was/is still there. I mean the ability to coax out a beautiful mathematical formula from the tangled maze of reality must surely be the work of true genius.

As a teenager, my brain was in my penis (it still is I think), I also looked at a video of an atomic explosion and was in complete awe of the "beautiful" trademark mushroom cloud.

Now, I'm older and beginning to think that the atomic bomb, in all its variations, is actually a major, if not the greatest, threat to not only human existence but to all life on earth.

I still admire Einstein (a lot) but what he's done is expressd so eloquently in the following quote:

Now I'm become death, destroyer of worlds — Oppenheimer(father of the atomic bomb)

Do you also admire someone whose work has led to the creation of instruments of global annihilation?

Actually, Einstein regretted the atomic bomb and I believe he was advocating banning such weapons. So, that's the silver lining for me.
  • Wayfarer
    In Isaacson’s bio of Einstein, the way the story is told is that a grad student approached Einstein after he gave a talk and told him his theory led to the development of weapons of immense destructive power. Einstein didn’t understand this and thought the student a crank. It wasn’t until years later that it became clear this student was correct - and Einstein bitterly regretted it, as you say. He was appalled by it. He and Bertrand Russell drafted the Russell-Einstein manifesto, and from memory, Russell was literally arrested protesting against atomic weapons (which is one of the reasons Russell is forever on my Good Guys list.)