• Bryan
    In relation to the people on this forum, I'm fairly new to philosophy. The reason why I'm writing this post is that I've hit a wall recently, in that I can't honestly accept anything to be true but I'm also too early into studying philosophy to remedy this.

To give an example of what this might look like: Some generic maxim like "there is value in struggling" would branch off into questions like what is value? What is the essence of struggle? Is language an adequate vehicle to ask these questions and to provide answers? How is the reason that we use to try to attempt to answer these questions even possible? In short, I can't be sure that I know anything anymore.

Anytime I try to think through these questions myself, I either get tangled in my thoughts or I reach a point where I would not be able to answer.

I began listening to some lectures on Kant's critique of pure reason, started reading some literature by the existentialists, and I will be taking some philosophy courses in my university to try to understand things a bit better, but they're pretty dense teachings and would take years to get a comprehensive understanding.

The problem is that I've found it very difficult to operate in everyday life because of a lack of answers to these questions -- answers which would make up a person's core belief system.

I feel as though I can't go live life without having some sort of belief system(I would even count denying everything as a belief system), but with that premise, I would have to wait a very long time before I can go live life.

So the real question is:

Although I can't be sure of it right now, there is likely value in living life. So how do I bring myself to live life right now without having any certainty that anything is true? How do I make myself do things which seem so arbitrary when I feel lost in the infinite.

Forgive me if my formatting was not so great, if I wasn't very clear, or if I sounded too angsty, this is my first post here.