• T Clark
    In this corner – the challenger, Tao.

[1] The ground of being
      [2] The Tao that cannot be spoken
      [3] Oneness is the Tao which is invisible and formless.
      [4] Nature is Tao. Tao is everlasting.
      [5] The absolute principle underlying the universe
      [6] That in virtue of which all things happen or exist
      [7] The intuitive knowing of life that cannot be grasped full-heartedly as just a concept

In this corner – the reigning champion, objective reality.

[1] The collection of things that we are sure exist independently of us
      [2] How things really are
      [3] The reality that exists independent of our minds
      [4] That which is true even outside of a subject's individual biases, interpretations, feelings, and imaginings
      [5] The world as seen by God
      [6] Things that we are sure exist

I’m an engineer. I’ve always loved physics. When I was younger, the idea that the world can be perfectly predicted if we know where everything is and where it is going at one moment in time was really attractive. As time has passed, this understanding seems less and less likely to me, even at a macro level. I am not talking about quantum mechanics. This is a philosophical discussion.

Twenty or twenty-five years ago, I started reading books about a different way of seeing the world. I read Alan Watts descriptions of eastern religions and philosophies. When I read the Tao te Ching, I felt a sense of recognition, both from a philosophical and an emotional perspective. I’ve thought about it a lot over the years and read the book probably twenty times.

More recently, it has struck me that the terms “Tao” and “objective reality”, in a sense, refer to the same thing. Not really, but kinda sorta. I’ve come to feel that replacing the idea of objective reality with the Tao is completely consistent with a scientific approach to knowledge.
  • litewave