• S
    Maybe.
  • Marchesk
    It's no more stupid than art, sports, music, or brewing your own beer.
  • T Clark
    I'm an engineer. I got a degree in civil engineering. When I got out of school, it was automatic. I immediately got a job and have worked 30 years. I like my job. I get paid well. I have a good retirement plan and insurance. I needed that structure. I am not strongly self-motivated.

My neighbor's son got a degree in philosophy from one of those tootie-fruity northern New England liberal arts schools. When he graduated, he immediately went to work for a large construction company as a construction manager. He's very successful.

Then there are my three children. One graduated with a degree in political science, one dropped out of college after four years, and one flunked out after one year. Two are farmers and one is a bartender. They are all very good at what they do, but they will never have much money unless they change things up. They are fearless and are following an internal voice.

Which are you? Do you need structure to succeed? Are you fearless?
  • woodart

I hear you – it is advantageous to be practical with one’s life. Many philosophers are not practical. However, many are like your neighbor’s son who are successful in the real world and the world of ideas. Ideally we want both – right? There is an old saying – there are those who can do – there are those who can think – there are those who can do neither – and a few who can do both.

Which are you? Do you need structure to succeed? Are you fearless?T Clark
  • Marchesk
    Just heard a short interview of Peter Singer by the BBC. The interviewer asked him whether pursuing a field that could have made him a lot more money might have been a better choice. Singer responded that by being a philosopher, he is able to get his ideas out in the world and influence people.