• A Seagull
    The people who call philosophy stupid are the people who haven't put down the time to understand what philosophy is about.darthbarracuda

Not necessarily! Perhaps someone has spent a life time studying it and concluded that it, or at least 99% of it, IS stupid.

That is the trouble with philosophy, it is so hard to show that it is NOT stupid!
  • _db
    Not necessarily! Perhaps someone has spent a life time studying it and concluded that it, or at least 99% of it, IS stupid.A Seagull

No, those who have spent a lifetime studying philosophy do not call it stupid. They may see all previous attempts as wrong or misguided, like Kant. But certainly they do not call "philosophy" stupid.
  • Terrapin Station
    No, those who have spent a lifetime studying philosophy do not call it stupid. They may see all previous attempts as wrong or misguided, like Kant. But certainly they do not call "philosophy" stupid.darthbarracuda

I've been studying it for over 45 years now, and again, I think that a lot of it is stupid. There are a lot of stupid arguments within it, many of which are very well-regarded and well-accepted, there's a lot of stupid reasoning from philosophers, a lot of stupid beliefs, etc. For a long time I wouldn't have called it stupid, but because (a) I cared about fitting in with the culture and being "taken seriously" by it, with some inkling that maybe I'd pursue something of a career in it at some point, and (b) my perspective/feeling that a lot of it is, and a lot of philosophers are quite stupid, including a lot of the big figures in the field, has increased over the years.