• Pantagruel
    What is the philosophical project?

I read a lot of non-contemporary philosophy, and a lot of out outlier material, Mannheim, Scheler, Laszlo. I also frequently revisit seminal and great works, Whitehead, Bergson, Fichte, Aristotle, Marx. I try to cover as much ground as humanly possible, philosophy, science, anthropology, sociology, political theory. To what end?

My hypothesis is that the philosophical project as such is, at its heart, metaphysical. Fichte says that. "To proceed beyond the facts...to go beyond experience as a whole...this is philosophy, and nothing else."

I believe that the rise of the scientific worldview has been, at the same time, the curtailing of the of the metaphysical project. And while I am a respectful student of many sciences, I think we have elevated it too far; that in so doing, something has been lost. Modern physics and cosmology have already run into the wall of dark matter and energy. The paradox of science, that we can learn so much only to discover that we really know so little, suggests to me that the need for a return to the philosophical project is greater than ever.

The universe is full of mysteries, unknown energies hovering at the edges of the galaxies and the peripheries of our understanding. But none is more mysterious than the one that is immanent to us at all times, the mysterious phenomenon of thought.

Time again to let thought speak for itself.
  • Agent Smith
    Omne ignotum pro magnifico.

Thinking/thought may not live up to the hype surrounding it or am I missing something? What if it turns out to be disappointingly simple, as simple as peeing for instance?
  • Pantagruel
    From my perspective, you are missing something. Think about it. What distinguishes a trivial unknown from a magnificent unknown? It is not within the phenomena themselves, it is in the knowing of the phenomena. So the significance of a mystery lies in the knowing of it; knowing is the significance.
  • Mww