• Laila
    I’m only very new to philosophy, but immediately I was attracted to the question, “what is humanity’s purpose?” And I've thought about it a lot. This is my theory, and I want to know what other people think of it.

One could say that the meaning or purpose of life is up to the person or that it’s something like happiness but in my opinion the reality is probably harsher than that. That’s not to say you can’t have some kind of motivation or have something you feel is your purpose, but I think saying it’s the entire reason you were born is incorrect.

Compare humanity to all other living things that exist, or perceive at least. Everything else that lives has some kind of role to play, no matter how minor, on Earth at least, everything fits nicely in and has an underlying purpose. Everything that is, except humans. Take away an animal or plant and ecosystems and complex systems collapse. Take humans away and life and the world flourishes. Humanity is essentially a tyrant conquering and trying to control the world. Not necessarily individuals – although many people do actively contribute – but humanity as a whole wreaks havoc on the natural world and other humans. Even though animals can be cruel, they all support the ecosystem and keep everything alive. Humans are cruel without that and even the majority of the kind ones only help other humans. Even the ones that do help the world do so by going out of their way, they don’t support the world just by doing what they need to like everything else. Which brings up the question, if humans don’t do what others do, what do they do? Nothing. Or their underlying purpose is destruction/death.