• Wayfarer
    If you want to think sensibly about it, then try to deflate the hysterically overblown figures of speech. Hume never said any such thing, his prose was really rather quotidian.

There's a subtle but profound point at the basis of this. It is Hume's observation that certitude is only possible with respect to propositions that are true by definition. When I studied Hume at university the tired textbook example was always that a bachelor is an unmarried man, by definition. Therefore if you claimed that this particular bachelor was unmarried, you had zero chance of being mistaken. The tired textbook example of an inductive claim was that all swans are white, which is derived not from logic but from the observation of swans. And of course this was completely deflated when Western Australia, the famous abode of the Black Swan, was discovered. So if you want to engage in such excited hyperbole, first of all come to terms with the quotidian arguments around which these debates revolve. At the moment, you sound as if you've been inhaling nitrous oxide.

I had the idea that complex numbers were required for the rather inelegant mathematical technique of 'renormalisation' which is required lest the predictions of quantum physics yield unexpected infinities.
  • Agent Smith
    you sound as if you've been inhaling nitrous oxide.Wayfarer

:rofl: I wish...haven't laughed in a while except yesterday when watching They do it with mirrors (Ms. Marple), a TV adapatation of an Agatha Christie murder mystery novel. There's this part where Chief Inspector Slack has a conversation with Dr. Maverick (vide infra).

Dr. Maverick (deadpan): In their subconscious every male wants to kill his father and marry with his mother (a reference to Freud's Oedipus Complex)

Chief Inspector Slack (mortified): I beg your pardon! :lol:
  • Wayfarer