• Wayfarer
    I'm a technical writer and though nominally at retirement age, I intend to keep working for a few years as I find it interesting (especially since there's so much remote work available nowadays). I have just been recruited by an agency that provides articles for tech companies' blog sites and white papers on technical subjects, for example API's. Learning a lot through doing it. So I've decided to try and dip my toe in the water with programming. I think I'll start with javascript as I have at least some experience with HTML and CSS.
  • Cornwell1

Why I tend to think people here are much younger than they are? I thought the same of universeness, who was a computer teacher. Nice that you intend to learn that still! I have read quite some stuff of you here. Sounds fresh and young, breaking with the "established" science. Anti-matterialistic (I'm a materialist myself, but I think all matter is litterally charged with unexplainable stuff). Keep it up!
  • Wayfarer
    Why thanks! Kind of you to say so.
  • jgill
    So I've decided to try and dip my toe in the water with programming.Wayfarer

Good luck, my friend. :smile:
  • Wayfarer
    I'm a materialist myself, but I think all matter is litterally charged with unexplainable stuff.Cornwell1

c4855q35vyznu9no.gif
  • Cornwell1

Haha! That's it! We are miracle-charged! Made in heaven!
  • universeness

Yeah, I used to entertain my students with stories about the early days of computing.
    Opcodes and operands, assembly codes, big valves switching on and off for 1 and 0.
    punch cards (I had some metal ones to show them) and punch tape etc. Pages of daisy wheel printer paper, connected pages of thin paper, perforated on both sides, full of nothing but 1's and 0's with an error in one 16bit stream, on the 31st page of a printout of 100 pages. A 1 that should have been a 0.
    They began to understand how error checking was quite hard in those days.