• ernestm
    Hamilton, you can understand his philosophy in one day by reading Paine's common sense. He was actually a very bad self-taught lawyer who didn't finish college.

Jefferson, you have to read at a minimum Plato, Aristotle, Cicero, Aquinas, Grotius, Hobbes, Locke, Hume, and Rousseau. Not surprisingly,about one in a million understand Jefferson's natural rights in this country, especially because stupid community-college courses on Hamilton preen their egos so much they believe they know everything.

Hamilton actually created such a legal nightmare people are still arguing about rights to own muskets in order to suppress slave rebellions. Of course, politicians still echo the propaganda so frequently, no one actually questions it at all. Jefferson gave up on the inanity and went to France.

That is called real thought, based on real knowledge, I believe that the absence of such thought is the main philosophical explanation why America is in the dumps.

People frequently challenge my thought on that in no uncertain terms. So I created a poll to prove I am right. I look forward to your responses )
    1. Was Hamilton a better thinker than jefferson (3 votes)
        yes
        33%
        no
        67%
  • BC
    How did Hamilton create legal nightmares?
    How many lawyers in Hamilton's day (or Lincoln's, for that matter) were NOT self taught, and had not gone to college?
    Only 300 people in the US understand Jefferson's natural rights?
    What have you got against Common Sense?

Was Hamilton a better thinker than Jefferson? In what areas? Jefferson was a very poor financial manager; Hamilton was a very good logistics and financial manager. Jefferson was a profligate spender in his private life, and was bankrupt when he died.