• JACT
    Hi,

This is my first attempt to start a thread.

Simple straightforward question. Tolstoy gives in what has later been renowned as "Christian Anarchism" a break from the church however keeping some (more-or-less arbitrary disregarding the non-forceful response...) of what was said in the new testament without actually going as far as the more radical position atheism. I am just wondering if the atheist won't be in problem here? What I am saying is that when arbitrarily taking givens, it would seem very hard as a hard-necked atheist to refute the whole of the new testament. Surely, there must be something worth keeping here even for the most radical?

https://www.gutenberg.org/files/43302/43302-h/43302-h.htm
  • Tom Storm
    What I am saying is that when arbitrarily taking givens, it would seem very hard as a hard-necked atheist to refute the whole of the new testament.JACT

Not really. The question is, can you refute the whole of the Koran or the whole of the bhagavad gita or the whole of the Book of Mormon or the whole of any scripture from any given religion? All holy books rely on a similar type of justification - the truth in book form.

A considered atheist position on any given holy book would not be to refute it (or refute that Gods exists) but to ask, is there a good reason to accept any of these books as true? Answer... no. But this doesn't mean that the books don't sometimes count as great literature or that they don't contain some useful stories.

You may be interested to learn that many Christians do not consider The Bible to contain true stories as such, but think of the books held within it as largely an allegorical expressions of the transcendent not to be taken literally.
  • Wayfarer
    Surely, there must be something worth keeping here even for the most radical?JACT

I think so, but many here will not.