• John McMannis
    I'm a new member and new to philosophy. What would members recommend to a total beginner in terms of a book? I like the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, but I prefer books. I'm sure all of you began somewhere, so what was the first book that really grabbed you? Thanks!
  • Wayfarer
    Bertrand Russell's History of Western Philosophy. It has plenty of critics but as a popular intro it is quite good. The way he weaves the narrative historical thread between individuals and periods of history is very good in my opinion, as it opens up the perspective of the 'history of ideas', which is technically a different subject to philosophy but very much linked with it.
  • 180 Proof
    Good luck. :up:

I recommend these introductions:

(if only these two were available when I'd started out ...)

The Philosopher's Toolkit: A Compendium of Philosophical Concepts and Methods (3rd Ed), Peter S. Fosl and Julian Baggini
    Peter Adamson's podcast & book series A History of Philosophy Without Any Gaps (5 volumes so far)

(otherwise, some oldies but goodies which did the job admirably way back when.)

The Great Philosophers: An Introduction to Western Philosophy by Bryan Magee
    An Outline of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell
    The American Evasion of Philosophy: A Genealogy of Pragmatism by Cornel West
  • Antony Nickles
    Real philosophy is not about knowledge of theories, so summaries and introductions spoil the point, which is to listen to how you react when you read the original texts. The result is to change who you are and how you think so there is no shortcut. Don't start with Nietszche, or Descartes, or anyone modern because they usually have an axe to grind. Plato or Aristotle are good because they form the reference for most everyone after. Mill and Hume and Hobbs and Rouseau are all fairly easy to read, which might be the best place to start (do not attempt Kant or Hegel or Heidegger).
  • baker

Jostein Gaarder: Sophie's World