• BillMcEnaney
    Hi, everyone,

I'm a new member eager to learn from you. My field is computer science. But I earned a BA degree in philosophy and passed two graduate seminars in it. Since I'm a devout Catholic, I'm analytic Thomas, too. So please criticize my argument after I post it.

For now, I'll summarize what I hope to prove: If St. Thomas Aquinas's classical theism is true, Prof. William Lane Craig's theistic personalism causes a vicious infinite regress.

Thanks for your help.

Bill
  • Wayfarer
    Hi and welcome to Philosophyforum. Good intro, but it might be good to flesh it out a little. Maybe lead with a few more reasons supporting that conclusion.
  • BillMcEnaney
    Thank you, Wayfarer. It's good to meet you. After I've slept long enough, I'll write in detail. Meanwhile, please forgive this night owl for making you and the other experts wait. Darn, there's no yawning emoji. :smile:
  • wonderer1

Hey Bill,

How have you been?
  • BillMcEnaney
    Hi, wonderer1,

I've been well, thanks. But we'll see how I'll feel after you guys criticize my argument. :smile:
  • Arne
    if I knew what you were talking about, I might be able to agree or disagree. I might be willing to do some homework (such as read an article or two on each side of the issue) . But coming out of total ignorance regarding either side of the issue is a heavy lift. But I do have Google. . . But until such time as you can tell me what you are talking about or I can get a sense on my own, I can only rely upon my natural disposition and vehemently disagree. . .

and besides, an infinite regress would not be a heavy lift for God?

:wink:
  • Wayfarer
    Maybe Bill is a heavy sleeper…..
  • BillMcEnaney
    Arne, I'll try to write simple prose. Then blame me if it confuses you. Either way, I'll answer what you asked about God and heavy lifting when I doubt that it'll help me falsify Craig's kind of theism.