• Karlen Karapetyan
    Does correlation imply causation?

The questions below regard the main source material discussed in this paper and available on wikimili.com, titled "correlation does not imply causation": This paper borrows from the source material and is in part a summary of what I learned from the source material:
    https://wikimili.com/en/Correlation_does_not_imply_causation

Consider the following questions that I have come up with from reading the source material. I am still learning this material, and so I would appreciate informed responses, since I need help understanding these questions too, and I humbly seek to share my knowledge and gain knowledge. I would appreciate your answers.

Questions
    • What are the sufficient conditions for causation?
    • What are the necessary conditions for causation?
    • What types of causes exist? Necessary? Sufficient? Both? Neither?
    • Is correlation sufficient to establish that X causes Y?
    • Is correlation necessary to establish that X causes Y?
    • If correlation is not sufficient, then what is a sufficient condition for causation?
    • If correlation is a necessary condition for causation, then what else is necessary?
    • Is a perfect correlation between X and Y ever sufficient to demonstrate causation? What if the coefficient of determination is a 100%? Note: coefficient of determination is a measure of the best fit of correlated data (i.e., the strength of the correlation)?
    • Does a perfect correlation prove causation?
    • Does a perfect correlation even count as evidence towards establishing causation?

Types of Causes for 'X is the cause of its effect Y':

A cause (X) can be either of the following four options:
    • Necessary Cause
    • Sufficient Cause
    • Both a Necessary and a Sufficient Cause
    • Neither a Necessary nor a Sufficient Cause

A cause can be either of the following types:
    (1). Necessary Cause: