• TheMadFool
    Dammit, Spock! I'm a doctor, not a metaphysician!180 Proof

:lol:
  • Mikie
    Philosophy can be summed up completely in the following:

What is matter? Never mind.
    What is mind? No matter.

This is from a story told by Bertrand Russell.

Figured this was a good place to put it— I found it amusing.
  • Arne
    an ongoing discussion of the nature of being.
  • John McMannis
    Given the word philosophy is in the very title of this forum, it seems like a fairly straightforward question, "What is philosophy?"

The term itself, as we know, means "love of wisdom" from the Greek. But that doesn't help much until we know what "wisdom" means.
    Xtrix

I was just asking this on another thread! I'll have to read through the responses....
  • Tom Storm
    The term itself, as we know, means "love of wisdom" from the Greek. But that doesn't help much until we know what "wisdom" means.Xtrix

It's a good point this one. I used to assume this meant the love of attempting to find wisdom. I've often wondered how someone how isn't wise can recognize wisdom when they see it. There seems to be a small contradiction inherent in this for me. Many years ago my wife said to me - "I've met a guru who may be enlightened and is so wise that I am going to become a follower." I asked how she knew the gurus was wise. "They told me so and he looks it."
  • GBG
    Science is fact, What we believe is Dogma and Philosophy is the stuff in between.
  • Mikie
    Science is fact, What we believe is Dogma and Philosophy is the stuff in between.GBG

Eh. We believe plenty of things in science as well.
  • EugeneW
    Science is fact, What we believe is Dogma and Philosophy is the stuff in between.GBG

The central dogma of molecular biology...
  • Agent Smith
    What is your aim in philosophy? – To show the fly the way out of the fly bottle.180 Proof

What is philosophy?