• Amity
    How philosophy can save your life | Jules Evans | TEDxBreda
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XuwYvFlNGns

15mins
    CBT and Stoicism - Jules Evans includes personal story with humour.
  • Shawn

Somewhere at 12:30 he suddenly says SHIT-BRICKED, and this was beautiful in front of an academic audience.
  • Amity
    Somewhere at 12:30 he suddenly says SHIT-BRICKED, and this was beautiful in front of an academic audience.Shawn

:lol:

Short Story, surely.
    So-called Shaky Stoics Shit-bricked on a Ship-wreck :cool:
  • Tom Storm
    Thanks - I may not have time as I'm under the pump at work (COVID emergencies, reports). The connection to CBT is clear and I studied Albert Ellis, who developed the foundations of this intervention based on some ideas from Stoicism (particularly Epictetus) and others. As REBT or Rational Emotive Behavioral Therapy.

One of the most powerful ideas I ever heard (when I heard it first 35 years ago) is - "It isn't what people say to you or do that upsets you, it is how you chose to react.' Simple and almost a homily on the surface, but so often when people 'go off the rails' it is because they have been unable to hold this in mind.

Epictetus, in the first century A.D. wrote in the Enchiridion: “Men are disturbed not by things, but by the views which they take of them.”
  • Shawn

Shakespeare also incorporated a lot from Stoicism...
  • Tom Storm
    There an old TS Eliot essay Shakespeare and the stoicism of Seneca.
  • praxis
    Shakespeare also incorporated a lot from Stoicism...Shawn

Hence the often misquoted line "To be or not to be, I'm cool either way.."
  • Amity
    One of the most powerful ideas I ever heard (when I heard it first 35 years ago) is - "It isn't what people say to you or do that upsets you, it is how you chose to react.' Simple and almost a homily on the surface, but so often when people 'go off the rails' it is because they have been unable to hold this in mind.