• Wayfarer
    Further to 'artificial selection', one of the most interesting topics I studied in prehistoric anthropology was in the origins of agriculture in the Fertile Crescent. To cut a very long story short, one of the deciding factors in the domestication of wheat, was that the seed heads of some wheat varieties hold their seeds a lot better than others - so they were the ones most likely to make it back to camp and most likely to then grow in proximity to settlements. Researches were able to identify different strains that had gradually been cultivated, starting with this apparently fortuitous method, going back three or four thousand years, purely from examining the morphology of the carbonised grains and seed-heads in ancient camp-fire sites in what was to become Mesopotamia.
  • SophistiCat
    But not by direct manipulation of the genome. None of them were 'created by humans', except for in the sense that the breed was selected. Artificial selection, I believe is the term, and in fact one of the sources for Darwin's idea of 'natural selection'.Wayfarer

Direct manipulation of genome is just the latest technology used in the process of adapting other species for our needs - and we are already using it (all those GMOs, you know). But I don't get your point. Why are you drawing the line at this technology and not, say, at irradiating seeds to induce more random mutations? Or the good old-fashioned selection and hybridization? Is there some red line that is only crossed with "direct manipulation of the genome"?
  • TheMadFool