• LisaVardy
    Hello!

I am quite new to philosphy, and I am writing an assignment on mathematical platonism. I have covered all my bases regarding epistomology and the metaphysical aspects of it, and I think i have a grasp of what it means to be a mathematical platonist.

My difficulty is this;
    What is the difference between Platos view on mathematics, and the view of a mathematical platonist?
    From my point of view, I can't see the difference. I am writing based on Linnebos three criterias of mathematical platonism, namely excistence, abstractness and independence of mathematical objects.
  • Shawn
    What is the difference between Platos view on mathematics, and the view of a mathematical platonist?LisaVardy

Mainly historical. But, the divergence is stipulated by science.
  • tim wood
    new to philosophy, and I am writing an assignment on mathematical platonism.LisaVardy
    Philosophy takes time, like a lot of things take time. Both distance and free yourself, then, from any notion that your efforts are in any way in themselves partook of philosophy. That will free you to to focus on your task of writing an assignment, and preserve you from either being or seeming a fool - when you have been for a while at philosophy, or what you think is philosophy, you will have plenty of opportunity to be the latter.

Why does it take time? Because most of what philosophers write is a reaction to something, and without being at least somewhat aware if not conversant with what that something is, it is no easy matter to understand what the philosopher is saying. But that does not stop or even slow down many people, hence the fool.
  • Apollodorus