• Wayfarer
    I’m not so assiduous about avoiding all religion as yourself. I bought Murdoch’s Metaphysics as a Guide to Morals for a relative for Christmas last, I will borrow it back at some point. It was recommended to me by a lecturer when I did my last degree.
  • Amity
    ecstasy - ex outside of; stasis - ‘business as usual’.
    — Wayfarer
    :fire:

My preferred - idiosyncratic - notion is 'ecstasy' rather than 'mysticism'; ecstatic practices -
    what Iris Murdoch calls unselfings - rather than mystical, or spiritual, exercises (i.e. union with (some) 'transcendent' (something)); ego-suspending via everyday living (i.e. encounters (à la Buber) - sleep, play, prayer, meditation, or contemplation via [ ... ] and/or hallucinogens) rather than ego-killing via ritualized ascetics (e.g. monasticism, militarism, etc). Not religious, not spiritual, not mystical - but I am (an) ecstatic.
    — 180 Proof
    180 Proof
    [emphasis added]

The Greek word which appears is έκ-στασις and then means "to be or stand outside oneself, a removal to elsewhere"javi2541997
    [emphasis added]

I haven't lifted my head out of @T Clark thread on the Tao Te Ching (TTC) for so long.
    This morning I thought I would peek in here to see what I could see...
    I found the above quotes which relate to the current discussion of Verse 18 of the TTC and 'ego'.

Not sure about 'acting from our true natures' - what is your true nature ?
    What do you think of how our egos and personality colour the way we understand and interact with others when we discuss the TTC ? I too see the TTC as a guidebook - but how we are guided depends on the translation. We can be led astray...

In Derek Lin's YouTube presentation of Ch13, lines 8-12 he paraphrases his translation:
    The greatest misfortune is the self. How is it our biggest problem is the ego ? Think about all the troubles we get into when the ego is out of control. The issue here is to dial down the sense of self-importance.