• elucid
    Hello everybody,

I am a self taught web programmer and I would like to share my view on the modern day computer. How would you categorize it? I, personally, would put in the category of magic. I am not saying it is not technology. I think that magic and technology can be one and the same. So, to better categorize it, I think it fits perfectly in the category of Magical technology.
  • Wayfarer
    You know, I think I agree with that. Actually, more to the point, modern physics, on which the success of modern computers rests, is itself magical. It works, but nobody really knows how.

I think I can safely say that nobody really understands quantum mechanics. — Richard Feynman, eminent physicist
  • counterpunch
    I think I can safely say that nobody really understands quantum mechanics. — Richard Feynman, eminent physicist

I think that's true, but only because quantum mechanics is misconceived. I think the fundamental seat of reality is the causal, macroscopic reality we inhabit - and that quantum mechanics is a "science" of the frayed edge of reality, on the border between something and nothing.

Physicists assume that there's some fundamental building block - or base substance of reality to be discovered, but there's not.

The nexus of gravity, weak and strong nuclear forces, electro-magnetism, matter and energy, all converge where we are, at this scale.

Quantum particles are very small things that don't quite exist; and the illogical behaviours observed:

EPR appears to be instantaneous communication at a distance. Quantum tunnelling - appears to be passing through solid objects. The double slit experiment - two places at the same time. Quantum indeterminacy - velocity or location, but not both.