• Pfhorrest
    It was suggested by someone in my "why are we here" thread that I should start a thread about "general philosophy" stuff that interests me, so I thought I would do that, starting with this.

I have observed a kind of structure, a set of symmetries and parallels, in the sub-fields of philosophy itself, that I haven't really seen explicitly called out anywhere, especially not all together like this. I think taking note of this structure can be useful in resolving some existing philosophical problems and guiding future research.

There are three dimensions to this structure.

The first is the descriptive vs prescriptive axis. This one seems pretty well observed by others. The very first Intro to Philosophy class I ever took was structured around this axis: the first half of the class was about metaphysics, epistemology, etc, and the second half of the class was on ethics, political philosophy, etc. The major program I graduated from had two... I forget what they called them, some kind of sub-majors or something... one that they called "core philosophy" that focused again on metaphysics, epistemology, etc, and another called something like "justice and ethics" that focused on ethics, political philosophy, etc. That pair of foci is what got me interested in philosophy to begin with, since my prior interests were basically in the physical sciences and certain social sciences like economics and political science, and finding a field that had sub-fields that seemed to underlay both of those piqued my interest. Noticing that two-fold nature of philosophy is what got me looking into the structure of the field as a whole, looking for symmetries between the two sides, whenever I learned something new about a descriptive topic wondering "what's the prescriptive analogue of this?" and vice versa.