• Yuting Liu
    As science advances, the quest for a unified theory of physics has been labeled the pursuit of a theory of everything. Does physics possess explanatory power so great that deserves a title as the exclusive fundamental science?

It seems to me that biology can not be completely derived from physics, because physical laws apply to both life and lifeless forms and draws no distinction between these forms. Thus, the biological distinction of life forms from lifeless forms can not be physical. Consequently, a unified theory of physics can not explain biology completely.

If we require that a theory of everything should explain such a important subject like biology, then physics falls short of the task. It opens a question as to what may constitute a real theory of everything beyond physics.

I'm not a expert in philosophy, but it seems that the quest for a ultimate theory of everything deserves attention. May I ask about your opinion?
  • TheMadFool
    It seems to me that biology can not be completely derived from physicsYuting Liu

This statement needs something to hold it up. A fullfledged watertight argument may not be at hand so I won't ask for that but surely you can tell us what led you in this direction.
  • tim wood
    because physical laws apply to both life and lifeless forms and draws no distinction between these forms. Thus, the biological distinction of life forms from lifeless forms can not be physical.Yuting Liu

I believe that "can not" of yours is a problem. On what basis your "can not"?
  • Zophie