• TheMadFool
    What exactly is an artist's statement? Is it simply an explanation of the artist's work? Sometimes it's said to be an extension of an artwork which would, in my book, complete the artist's creation; in other words, an artist's statement is part of the art itself, sometimes.

If an artist and this artist's statement is claimed to be nothing more than the show and tell of kindergarten experience then I'm at a loss as to why this is unartistic. I'm no expert in art but an artist probably wishes to convey information, whether facts or just a perspective and everything in between, through his art. I reckon this is where an artist's statement enters the fray, for who was it who said "for words are slippery and thought vicious"? The artist seems concerned, either out of compulsion to express himself/herself or also out of discretion, that his art not be seen in a way that he didn't intend, thus the need for the artist's statement.

With that out of the way, an artist's statement, if but an explanation, in some ways reflects a deficiency, a deficiency in the artwork itself which compels the artist to furnish the so-called artist's statement to, in effect, correct the image his/her work evokes in the minds of his audience to match his/her own. It may be wrong to call this a deficiency though.
  • deletedusercb
    With that out of the way, an artist's statement, if but an explanation, in some ways reflects a deficiency, a deficiency in the artwork itself which compels the artist to furnish the so-called artist's statement to, in effect, correct the image his/her work evokes in the minds of his audience to match his/her own. It may be wrong to call this a deficiency though.TheMadFool