• Number2018
    I agree with you, there are so many ways of thinking, not just one!
    It is a matter of choice - what you find more relevant. I will read your paper.
  • jgill
    Just joining the discussion. I'm a retired math professor interested in the nature of time.
  • Metaphysician Undercover

OK, welcome to the club. Have you read the thread?
  • jgill
    Not yet. It will take awhile! Thanks.

I offered a brief starting point. Time as a concept is derived from our apprehension of a separation, division, between past and future.
  • ovdtogt
    Memory and desire gives us our sense of Time.
  • jgill
    Here is a mathematical note I wrote a while back that demonstrates how a math person might view the passage of time. It's meant to be amusing as well.

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/321554337_An_Elementary_Note_Playing_With_Complex_and_Distorted_Time_in_C

:cool:
  • prothero
    I don't believe in time. Time is an illusion, an abstraction from the events, the change, the becoming of the world.
    I believe in change, in process, in events, in the creative becoming of the world. Can't find time in physics. Can't find time in experience, just the relative ordering of events as seen from a specific point of view. Time is just the relative rate of change, nothing more and that is why philosophers and physicists keep searching and finding not.
  • Possibility
    I barely scraped through calculus in high school, and I’m way out of practise, so I’ll admit that most of that went over my head.

But I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on Carlo Rovelli’s book ‘The Order of Time’, if you’ve read it...
  • jgill
    I haven't read that, but thanks for the suggestion. I'm going to start a new thread in the next day or so on theories of history that relate to these existing time topics. Very easy to understand, although I have created mathematical analogies which are of no consequence. :roll:
    I don't believe in time.prothero