• Pantagruel
    (We really need a word for a proponent of scientism, because "scientist" obviously isn't it).Pfhorrest

"Scientologist"? No, that's not quite right....
  • Artemis
    (We really need a word for a proponent of scientism, because "scientist" obviously isn't it)Pfhorrest

Realist? Non-hog-wash-ian? Educated? Jk :razz:

I had a philosophy class in high school and I don't feel like I came away from it with an understanding of what philosophy was at all, but that could have been because I was a dense scientism-ist at the time.Pfhorrest

I think being a teenager as well as a total novice at anything at all, including philosophy, just means that in the intro courses lots and lots is going to be lost on you.

After I graduated from college, I worked for several years as a paraprofessional in the public school system (one-on-one with disabled students who may or may not be integrating into regular classrooms) and so basically retook a lot of school classes with my students. I kept thinking "Wait! I learned this before? Where the heck was I? If all students actually remembered all this stuff after school, everyone would be so smart!"
  • Pfhorrest
    "Positivist" seems to fit, thanks.

(I remember the teacher of the class asking something like what's my philosophy, and I started to explain string theory to him, completely not getting what the question even was. A few years later, in a political science class my first year in college, I remember thinking that "my philosophy" was an ethical stance I had come up with that was basically utilitarianism though I'd never heard that word yet).

basically retook a lot of school classes with my students. I kept thinking "Wait! I learned this before? Where the heck was I? If all students actually remembered all this stuff after school, everyone would be so smart!"Artemis