• deletedmemberMD
    Out of curiosity what did you answer in this poll? I’m
    Assuming you are qualified to make a formal assessment of someones level of education based on a few comments on a web forum?
  • Artemis

I said bachelor's degree. And I don't mind being more specific: I hold a dual degree in Philosophy and in another field and my senior thesis was on the intersection of the two. I have a master's in the other field and I am working on a PhD therein. Hence my knowledge of how academia works.

I would have pursued a career in philosophy, but it's a tough job market for which you have to be willing to move and I really like where I'm living and I like my chosen field just as much as philosophy. But sometimes the bug strikes me and I wind up here talkin to y'all.

:nerd:
  • alcontali
    Of course, if this counts as education...SophistiCat

Nassim Nicholas Taleb (NNT)?

His wikipedia page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nassim_Nicholas_Taleb

You can also try to check out his subreddit; https://www.reddit.com/r/nassimtaleb

NNT has a similar history to Thales of Miletus:

Taleb considers himself less a businessman than an epistemologist of randomness, and says that he used trading to attain independence and freedom from authority.[33]

Until a few years ago, I could not easily afford to spend an inordinate amount of time on something like the epistemology of randomness. Back then, I still had to make money.
  • Salviaja
    B.A. magna cum laude in Religious Studies from an ivy league with heavy philosophy component ...looks like I'd better upload a copy of my diploma to "prove it" though, right? ...seeing as how there's a credentials cop who checks on this thread once an hour to flame others?
  • alcontali
    Hence my knowledge of how academia works.Artemis

With how much student debt have they saddled you in exchange for their worthless paperwork?