• Pfhorrest
    I'm surprised that I can't find a thread like this here already. Also not sure if this belongs in general or the lounge, mods feel free to move as necessary.
    1. How much philosophical education do you have? (56 votes)
        None at all
        11%
        Only autodicactic / self-taught
        38%
        Some pre-college classes
          4%
        Some incidental college classes
        14%
        Currently studying it at college
          5%
        Associate's degree in it
          0%
        Bachelor's degree in it
        18%
        Master's degree in it
        9%
        Doctoral degree in it
          2%
        Professor of it
          0%
  • god must be atheist
    My teachers only opened my eyes... I do all the thinking. To me philosophy is a way of exercising my freedom to develop my thinking. It is a similar experience for me in my life to writing fiction. And both pay about the same.
  • Artemis

That was your teachers' goal! :wink:
  • Artemis
    I wanna know who here claims to have a PhD in philosophy. :brow:
  • 180 Proof
    Enough education to know that I don't know enough and never will.

update:

I don't count my formal education / training; pace Nicholas of Cusa - in philosophy (as opposed to "Philosophy") only unlearned ignorance matters.
  • god must be atheist
    That was your teachers' goal! :wink:Artemis

Silly me... I thought he and she and he and he (have taken two electives in my pursuing a degree in math, and after that, many years later, I audited two courses (audit means listen to the lectures, but not work toward a credit, not needing to give account of my progress via tests etc.)) did it for the money.
  • god must be atheist
    I wanna know who (here) claims to have a PhD in philosophy. :brow:Artemis

I am sure it's @3017amen. The rest of us are pretty stupid so we act reasonably. That's what I'd say.
  • Janus
    It's not at all clear what the point of this poll is.
  • Pfhorrest