• Nicholas Ferreira
    I'm studying modal logic and I'm reading Kripke's paper "Semantical analysis of modal logic I - Normal modal propositional calculi" (1963).
    When he talks about the accessibility relation R (p. 4), he says that a world H2 is accessible to H1 if every proposition A that is true in H2 is possible in H1. But then he defines a proposition A is possible in the world H1 iff there is a world H2, accessible to H1, in which A is true. But isn't this circular? In order to understand what the accessibility relation means, I need to know what it means a proposition be possible, but to understand what means a proposition be possible, I need to know what the accessibility relation means.
    I've checked in some modal logic books and they seems to use the same definitions, but seems like this definitions are empty. What do you think?
  • boethius
    Based on just what you report here, my guess would be you have conflated accessible and possible.

Accessible I would assume means expressible; the statement can be understood with the system of rules and postulates in question.

Possible is not the same as accessible. A statement can be accessible but always false.

To be possible means there is a world where that statement is actually true (where world means a system of rules and postulates, not the actual world).

The main theme in this sort of framework is that "modal necessity" is equivalent to the proposition being true in all possible worlds accessible to the system in question, so in this framework you can hop around systems and relate them to each other and try to find counterexamples or then prove no counterexamples can exist to investigate and conceptualize necessity, as well as investigate what possibility means by building a concrete example of an accessible world where the proposition is true.