• Devans99
    So for example, a hypothesis is that there are certain patterns or ratios in music that we find especially pleasing. Science maybe able to identify these characteristics.

And if you have any idea how knowledge of our glands and biochemicals could inform our knowledge of emotions, there are many people who would be very interested to speak with you, maybe even offer you money for your insightsPattern-chaser

I'm no expert but adrenaline is the fight/flight chemical, dopamine the reward chemical. There is quite a science to it I believe.

Fundamentally I think science is about logic and logic is applicable to everything (the world is logical and humans are logical).
  • Pattern-chaser
    humans are logicalDevans99

I beg to differ. We are capable, on occasion, of logical and rational behaviour, but you don't need me to provide a host of examples of humans not behaving so. I think we've taken this exchange as far as it can usefully go. Do you agree?
  • Devans99
    I would just add that when human are not behaving logically, they are behaving emotionally. But emotions themselves are 'logical' - they are signals like fear or love from the more primitive parts of our mind to the conscious mind and they can be analysed logically.
  • 0 thru 9

Ok, here’s a small example from chapter 56:

Those who know don't talk.
    Those who talk don't know.

Close your mouth,
    block off your senses,
    blunt your sharpness,
    untie your knots,
    soften your glare,
    settle your dust.
    This is the primal identity.

Translated (very liberally) to read as advice on writing (philosophy or otherwise):
    No need to shout or argue. More words count less. Don’t always trust your eyes and appearances. Words can be cutting, be careful. Know yourself, your faults most of all, for that’s like fertilizer. Shine the light on the subject matter, not yourself. Don’t write to impress, do so to express... and hopefully something beyond merely yourself...