• RegularGuy
    Religion dealt with ethics before philosophy ever did. Philosophy borrowed from religion and then separated in some cases. I have a degree in philosophy. You’re talking to me like I don’t value philosophy. I believe in the Golden Rule (from religion) as a guiding principle for our conduct. I am also a neo-deontologist in that I think you can infer moral truths from the categorical imperative (modified for some context).
  • RegularGuy
    Religion teaches by parables and mythology. It is another way to gain wisdom. Philosophy is also valuable. It seems you don’t appreciate the meaning of the term “wisdom”. At least it is difficult to discern any in you.
  • S
    Religion dealt with ethics before philosophy ever did. Philosophy borrowed from religion and then separated in some cases. I have a degree in philosophy. You’re talking to me like I don’t value philosophy. I believe in the Golden Rule (from religion) as a guiding principle for our conduct. I am also a neo-deontologist in that I think you can infer moral truths from the categorical imperative (modified for some context).Noah Te Stroete

No, I'm not suggesting that you don't value philosophy. My point was that what you're describing is actually covered by the branch of philosophy known as ethics. In a scenario where you were trying sell me religion based on the features and benefits, I'd be like: that's not a unique selling point, why shouldn't I just buy a different product? And likewise with the search for wisdom.

Again, religion is redundant. What can it do that science and philosophy can't?
  • RegularGuy
    I’m not trying to sell you religion. It works for some people. It doesn’t work for others. And some people take it so literally that it causes real harm. I don’t think it’s for everyone.
  • S
    I’m not trying to sell you religion.Noah Te Stroete