• frank
    This is the 'dialectical' process that Hegel is trying to point out. I start with an assertion that is not quite right. You locate what is not quite right. I try to patch the hole with more detail, more context. Repeat.macrosoft

That also sounds like some explanations of the hermeneutic circle. Is it the same thing?
  • macrosoft
    That also sounds like some explanations of the hermeneutic circle. Is it the same thing?frank

I'm no expert, but I'd say that they are related. (I can't guarantee that this isn't a misreading on my part.)

As I understand the circle, we have to start with a vague initial understanding of what we are questioning in order to ask our question in the first place. As we specify what it is we are asking about (the nature of truth, for instance), then right away we are forced to deal with other concepts related to the concept of truth. Do we have a perfectly clear grasp of these concepts? Probably not. And maybe the meanings of these related concepts themselves depends on our unclarified concept of truth. We seem stuck. But as we run around the circle, back and forth from concept to concept, the circle as a whole becomes illuminated and clarified, also clarifying the individual concepts via their place in this circle. IMV this does not mean we ever attain perfect clarity about truth or any of the related concepts. It only means more clarity.

I love the hermeneutic circle as a holist insight. It strikes me as a description of what we actually do without usually being conscious of it. Hegel's dialectic would seem to be part of moving around in this circle, increasing its circumference, since his dialectic is creative. Of course clarification is also creative. (more meaning, brighter meaning). Maybe Hegel and Heidegger are emphasizing different aspects of the same process, of course doing so as a part of that same process, allowing the process to become 'self-conscious.'
  • Terrapin Station