• hugh
    What governs what we do?

I’m looking for a good book or some good articles about what we do and why. I have been reading psychology books about impulses and habits, but this isn’t quite getting to my question. I think perhaps the habits of society (living in houses, working, consuming, partying, creating, coupling up, telling stories, watching TV, etc.) is more what I am questioning when I ask, what do we do and why do we do it?

I’m an architecture student questioning the functions of society (The Ethical Functions of Architecture by Karsten Harries doesn’t answer my question either). Any relevant reading material would be greatly appreciated.
  • tim wood
    You might get further faster by keeping a journal. And to the degree your attention is focused you might learn lots of things. People used to keep such things. Ah! Keep a journal yourself and research and read journals that others have kept (and that have been published). Be open to the need to read between the lines.
  • hugh
    Thanks Tim, good idea. I feel like I need an alien's view of the whole thing as well though.
  • unenlightened
    I need an alien's viewhugh

That's called 'Sociology'. Marx, Durkheim, Weber for a start; perhaps Gregory Bateson, David Smail, Levi-Strauss, It depends what exactly you're looking for.
  • BC
    Keep reading.

When will you be finished and have a full understanding of how modern life unfolded from the beginning of making stone tools? If you chip away at the task in-between your other studying and life-living, you should have a fairly good idea by 2030. It depends on how fast a study you are. If you are very very fast, maybe 2021. If you dilly-dally around, 2050. It took me around 50 years to corral a good understanding of our long history (while I was doing lots of other stuff).